Despite the recent economic downturn, more than 525 members and industry associates attended the 2009 NADCA Annual Meeting & Exposition at the Caribe Royale in Orlando, Fla., March 9-12.

At the center of this year’s event was the celebration of NADCA’s 20th anniversary. A major highlight was the induction of past presidents into the new NADCA Hall of Fame, which was created in honor of the association’s milestone anniversary. All but three of NADCA’s past presidents were in attendance to provide their perspectives on the changes and growth that has occurred during the association’s first 20 years of existence. The celebration continued into the evening, with attendees mingling at a poolside reception that included games, food, drinks and plenty of fun.

The event was packed with educational sessions and timely discussions. Attendees had the opportunity to hear about the new NADCA ACR Standard set for release later this year. The Standard will be presented as performance-based, unlike past versions of the NADCA ACR, which were based on procedure.

NADCA’s 21st Annual Meeting & Exposition will take place at the Westin La Paloma in Tucson, Ariz., March 27-30, 2010.

The 2009-2010 NADCA Board of Directors
The 2009-2010 NADCA board of directors was appointed during the exposition. Rick MacDonald, of Armstrong Heating & Power Vac in Manchester, N.H., is NADCA’s newest board member. MacDonald’s company has been a member of NADCA for 18 years, and during this time he has been an active volunteer within the association.

Several changes were made to the NADCA officer lineup, including the appointment of new president Robert “Buck” Sheppard, of AAA Indoor Air Quality. Sheppard is excited about serving the association as president, and said one of his main goals is to solidify NADCA’s place within the energy efficiency movement.

NADCA extends a heartfelt “thank you” to Terry Donohue, of Power Vac G.T.A. in Toronto, Canada, whose term with the board of directors has ended. Terry was a longtime member of the Board, and served for nine years as chairman of NADCA’s Annual Meeting Committee. His insight and expertise will certainly be missed.

Winners of the 2008 Safety Awards
Safety is a top concern for any business, which is why NADCA recognizes member companies that demonstrate the ability to run safe operations. Each year, NADCA presents the Safety Awards to members that have applied for the program and met its standards, which are based on OSHA guidelines.

This year, 52 NADCA member companies are being honored as winners of the 2008 Safety Awards. Out of these 52 companies, 27 qualified for the Outstanding Safety Award, which is given to members that have met the guidelines of the program for three or more consecutive years.

For more information, please visit