ria logo red whiteSince the dawn of history, fires, floods and other perils have wreaked destruction on the structures, possessions and lives of human beings. Even with today’s modern advances, natural disasters still destroy buildings and contents. The professionals who restore damaged property play a unique role as they strive to find the most effective way to “make it better” for all involved.

The Restoration Industry Association established the RIA Phoenix Awards for Innovation in Restoration and Innovation in Reconstruction in 1996 to acknowledge these incredible achievements worldwide.

Originating in ancient times, the Phoenix was a mythological bird which could re-create itself out of the ashes of its own destruction. As a symbol of rebirth, the Phoenix represents the process involved during the restoration and reconstruction of damaged properties.

Recognized by restoration firms and insurance companies worldwide, the RIA Phoenix Awards allow companies to illustrate the skills and expertise required by today’s restoration professionals. Winners are recognized in the trade and mainstream media, featured in C&R magazine and provided with a unique opportunity to promote their success to clients, potential customers and their local communities.

Previous winners include:

  • A&I Fire and Water Restoration
  • Advanced Restoration Technologies
  • Alliance Disaster Kleenup
  • Arrigo Restoration
  • Begal Enterprises, Inc.
  • BELFOR – Columbus
  • BELFOR – Exton
  • DKI/Better Floors & Restoration
  • First General Services
  • First Restoration Services
  • Insurance Restoration Services
  • Johns Lyng Group (Australia)
  • Kelmann Restoration
  • Mellon Certified Restoration
  • Rolyn Companies
  • Sharp & Robbins Construction
  • Spotless Carpet Cleaners & Janitorial Services, Inc.
  • Woodard Cleaning & Restoration
  • The Integrated Team
  • Platinum Restoration

The Phoenix Awards are open to all RIA member firms, as well as non-member firms that provide restoration and remediation services. Projects should have been completed between January and December 2013. (The applicant’s portion of the project must be fully completed. The entire project must be 90% completed in this timeframe.) There is no minimum project size.

Entries are reviewed by a panel of judges with extensive experience in restoration, reconstruction and insurance issues. Jurors’ names are kept confidential and jurors do not vote on projects from competitors in their own market area or on projects in which they may have been involved in some capacity.

Deadline for applications and supporting documents is December 16, 2013. A $75 late fee will be assessed on any entries received between December 17 and January 6, 2014. No entries will be accepted after Monday, January 6, 2014.

The Phoenix Award winners will be announced at the annual RIA International Restoration Convention & Industry Expo in Orlando, on April 10, 2014, at the Marriott Orlando World Center. In addition to earning the respect of fellow restoration professionals, this award provides a vehicle for winners, participating firms and the entire RIA membership to achieve recognition in the media and the insurance industry for their contributions.

 For a full listing of the entry requirements, visit www.restorationindustry.org and click on the Phoenix Awards tab under Industry Resources or contact the RIA office at 800-272-7012.